Food In Canada

NSF International Announces 2018 Canadian Food Safety Recognition Award Winners

By Food in Canada staff   

Food Safety Meat &Poultry Bake & Snack Food Confectionery food safety NSF International

NSF International has announced the winners of the NSF International 2018 Food Safety Recognition Awards. The awards recognize Canadian food and beverage companies and individuals that have made great contributions to food safety, whether by leading food safety efforts within an organization, contributing to advances in food safety science or engaging in food safety public education and action.

This year’s winners are:

  • Food Safety Leadership Award– Gordon Hayburn, Vice President, Food Safety and Quality, Trophy Foods, Mississauga, Ontario

 In his current role, Hayburn leads the company’s food safety efforts and the team responsible for Trophy Foods’ AA+ BRC rating at its Mississauga and Calgary facilities. He is being recognized not only for his contributions and leadership at Trophy Foods, but for his contributions to the broader food industry. Gordon’s commitment to food safety is demonstrated through his academic involvement, regular speaking engagement at conferences across the globe and his work as an approved BRC trainer.


  • Food Safety Excellence Award– Maple Lodge Farms, Brampton, Ontario

 Maple Lodge Farms is Canada’s largest independently owned poultry processor. Maple Lodge Farms is being recognized for its positive food safety culture and the leadership role it’s taking on influencing food safety policy and issues.

Healthcare Food Services in Ottawa, Ontario was a runner-up for the Food Safety Excellence Award.

“There are many food safety success stories in Canada and we created these awards as a mechanism for sharing and celebrating those achievements,” said Paul Medeiros, Managing Director of NSF International’s Food Safety Consulting and Technical Services in North America. “The NSF International Canadian Food Safety Recognition Awards recognize and encourage excellence and innovation in management practices, leadership, processes and technologies that advance food safety in Canada.”

Each year, an independent panel of food safety experts from academia, industry and the regulatory community reviews nominations from across Canada to select the recipients. Nominations are evaluated on the basis of excellence and leadership in the advancement of food safety.

To learn more about the awards criteria and view this year’s winners, please visit NSF International’s Canada website.

Print this page


Stories continue below