Food In Canada

News

Product of the year and other winners at the B.C. Food & Beverage Awards


The cream rises to the top and the B.C. Food & Beverage Awards showcased the best of the best at its Annual Awards Show – highlighting the immense talent and world class products being created and manufactured here in B.C.
From scallops, seaweed and hippie snacks, to crackers, wine and gin, B.C. is home to some of the best food and beverage products in the world, not to mention the entrepreneurs and industry leaders who make them. During its first ever online celebration – sponsored by FASKEN – 10 awards were handed out, with Sheringham Distillery’s Seaside Gin securing the coveted Gold Award for Product of the Year.

Jason MacIsaac of Sheringham Distillery says, “To receive an award like this is such an honour and I just wanted to share my gratitude. I know there is a lot of work that has gone into this project and I just wanted to say thank you.”

With 132 years in business, The KB Honey Family of Surrey was this year’s inductee into the
B.C. Food & Beverage Hall of Fame.

Throughout the virtual awards show, local celebrity and host Fred Lee kept things moving
smoothly. Appearances by BC Minister of Agriculture Lana Popham and Dr. Bonnie Henry
were a highlight as they both offered encouraging remarks to the B.C. Food & Beverage industry
for their incredible efforts in keeping the food supply chain strong and secure throughout the
COVID-19 pandemic.

B.C. Food & Beverage CEO James Donaldson says, “Though we always look forward to the
BCFB Awards as a live event, we were thrilled with how our virtual Awards Show came
together. This year’s group of winners was a perfect representation of the industry in B.C.;
companies both large and small, with a wide range of products from all over the province.
Congratulations to all the nominees, finalists and winners.”

THE 2020 WINNERS

Product of the Year Gold: Seaside Gin by Sheringham Distillery – Sooke https://www.sheringhamdistillery.com/

Product of the Year Silver: Zesty Cheeze Crackers by Free Yumm – South Vancouver http://www.freeyumm.com/

Product of the Year Bronze: Nut-Free Tigernut Butter by Farafena – Vancouver https://www.farafena.com/

Hall of Fame Inductee: The KB Honey Family – Surrey https://kbhoneyfamily.com/

Sustainability Award: Coastal Shellfish – Prince Rupert http://coastalshellfish.com/

People First, Health, Safety and Cultural Excellence Award: Vitalus Nutrition – Abbotsford https://vitalus.com/

Innovation Award: Cascadia Seaweed – Sidney https://www.cascadiaseaweed.com/

Export Award: Hardbite Chips – Surrey https:/hardbitechips.com/

Best in Brand, Marketing Award: Hippie Snacks – Burnaby https://www.hippiesnacks.com/

Leadership Award: Christine Coletta, Okanagan Crush Pad – Summerland / Kelowna https://okanagancrushpad.com/

Rising Star Award: Connie Marples, Boosh Food – Surrey https://www.booshfood.com/

BCFB Processor Member of the Year Award: Mogiana Coffee – Burnaby https://mogianacoffee.com/

BCFB Associate Member of the Year Award: Glenmore Custom Print + Packaging http://glenmorecustomprint.com/about/

 



A Must Read for all food & beverages industry personnel

Canada’s national food & beverage processing authority
Serving the Canadian food & beverage processing industry for over 80 years!

FREE to qualified industry professionals