Food In Canada

Primo Water North America announces certification of another spring site

Food in Canada Staff   

Products Beverages bottled water Primo Water

Logo: Primo Water Corporation (CNW Group/Primo Water Corporation)

Primo Water, a leading provider of water products and water filtration services and more in North America and Europe, has expanded its certified source sites. Among its best-known bottled water brands are Alhambra, Crystal Rock, Crystal Springs, Deep Rock, Hinckley Springs, Kentwood Springs, Mount Olympus, Nursery Water, Sierra Springs and Sparkletts. SCS Global Services (SCS), a global leader in third-party certification of sustainability performance, has confirmed that Primo Water North America’s Wekiva Spring site in Florida has achieved certification.

This certification follows certification of Primo Water North America’s Diamond Spring site in Pennsylvania in early December 2020, which made Primo the first company to have a spring water source certified under the Alliance for Water Stewardship (AWS) program. The AWS International Water Stewardship Standard is a comprehensive global benchmark for responsible water stewardship.

Certification of the Wekiva Spring site demonstrates that Primo Water North America has successfully completed each of the steps in the AWS Standard and is confirmation of having met the global benchmark for responsible water stewardship. AWS certification demonstrates that Primo has addressed five aspects of responsible water stewardship: good water governance, sustainable water balance, good water quality, important water-related areas, and safe water, sanitation and hygiene.

“We continue to make important progress toward advancing our water usage and conservation efforts to ensure we meet internationally recognized standards,” said Tom Harrington, Primo’s Chief Executive Officer. “Our next step is completing the certification process for our Georgia and Arkansas spring water sources this year, and we are maintaining our goal of having all of our key owned spring water sources certified by the AWS by the end of 2022.”


The AWS Standard certificates are issued independently of the site, its owners and AWS by neutral, expert, third-party conformity assessment bodies who have achieved AWS accreditation. A site’s certificate will be valid for three years, subject to successful surveillance audits.

Print this page


Stories continue below