Food In Canada

Young people chosen for agricultural council

By Food in Canada   

Food In Canada Business Operations

July 27, 2020, Ottawa, Ont. – The government has announced the 25 young people who will form the new Canadian Agricultural Youth Council (CAYC).

The youth were chosen from more than 800 applications received, representing a diverse mix of subsectors from across the agriculture and agri-food sector, as well as from every province and the North.

As a consultative body to Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the CAYC will have the opportunity to offer suggestions on government priorities, as well as identify problems and propose solutions on issues that matter most to them, all while developing leadership skills and building professional relationships.

CAYC members will provide their insights on a variety of topics, which could include: how the sector is adapting to COVID-19, business risk management programs, sustainable agriculture, market diversification, skills and labour, intergenerational farm transfers, and mental health.


The CAYC will meet multiple times annually, with a virtual inaugural meeting planned for August 2020.

“I’m looking forward to virtually meeting the members of the first-ever Canadian Agricultural Youth Council,” says Agriculture and Agri-Food Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau. “Each of these young leaders will bring a unique experience and perspective to the table. Together, the members will help shape the future of Canada’s sustainable agricultural industry.”

The application process included a series of questions on each candidate’s experience in the agriculture and agri-food sector, a short essay on a significant issue facing youth in the sector and how they proposed to address it.

Youth who applied and were not selected may be contacted to participate in other fora with the minister and the department in future.

Gordon Bell
Jerry Bos
Vicki Brisson
B Pratyusha Chennupati
Andrea De Roo
Chantele Gouliquer
Marcus Grymonpré
Paul Hrycyk
Sameeha Jhetam
Brent Kobes
Samuel Lanctôt
Jessica Leung
Carling Matejka
Ila Matheson
Césarée Morier-Gxoyiya
Sarah Ouellette
Steven Paolitto
Guillaume Pasquier
Lauren Peters
Kayoki Post-Whiteduck
Colby Robertson
Rose Seguin
Easton Sellers
Sara Kate Smith
Kalysha Snow

Print this page


Stories continue below